2018 Lexus Melbourne Cup Tour Destinations Announced

cup launch tour

The 16th Annual Lexus Melbourne Cup Tour will celebrate the race that stops a nation by travelling to some of Australia's most iconic locations, including the Birdsville Cup, the sandy shores of Mission Beach, and for the first time the $200,000 gold trophy will cross the Nullarbor Plain by train. 

Lexus' inaugural partnership with the Victorian Racing Club (VRC) will see the Lexus Melbourne Cup travel to more destinations and people than ever before. This includes The Cup traveling to the UK and Ireland before heading home at the end of July. It will then head off on its tour of Australia, as well as New Zealand, and for the first time, South Korea, before making its way back to Flemington for that first Tuesday in November.

The successful destinations were announced today in Richmond, Melbourne, where students from Kensington Primary School participated in a mock barrier draw to reveal each destination.

Minister for Racing, the Hon. Martin Pakula MP was also on hand for the big announcement alongside VRC Chairman Amanda Elliott, Flemington Ambassador Georgia Connolly, Lexus Ambassador Kate Waterhouse and Lexus Australia Chief Executive Scott Thompson. 

Mr. Thompson said Lexus Australia was immensely proud to partner with an event that means so much to so many Australians.

"Lexus is passionate about delivering Amazing Experiences and the 2018 Lexus Melbourne Cup Tour will bring the amazing experience of the People's Cup to more Australians than ever before," Mr. Thompson said.

"Through sharing the history and passion of the Lexus Melbourne Cup, we have a unique opportunity to celebrate the stories of the iconic trophy and its contribution to Australia's cultural and historical heritage."

To keep posted with the Cup's journey, stay tuned to Lexus Australia on social media.


July 10 London, UK
July 11 Newbury, UK
July 12 Somerset, UK
July 13 – 16 Newmarket, UK
July 18 County Kildare, IRL
July 19 Closutton, IRL
July 20 Owning Hill, IRL
July 21 – 22 County Kildare, IRL
July 26 – 28 Auckland, NZ
August 1 Melbourne, VIC
August 3 Shepparton, VIC
August 4 Nagambie, VIC
August 7 Melbourne, VIC
August 10 – 11 Louth, NSW
August 16 Darwin, NT
August 17 – 18 Katherine, NT
August 23 Perth, WA
August 24 Boyup Brook, WA
August 26 – 29 Perth – Sydney (Indian Pacific train)
August 30 Sydney, NSW
August 31 – September 2 Birdsville, QLD
September 4 Dunedoo, NSW
September 5 Melbourne, VIC
September 8 – 9 Seoul, KOR
September 13 Mission Beach, QLD

September 14 – 15 Mount Perry, QLD
September 18 Melbourne, VIC
September 20 – 21 Goondiwindi, QLD
September 22 Gold Coast, QLD
September 23 Brisbane, QLD
September 25 Sydney, NSW
September 27 – 28 Bega, NSW
October 2 – 3 Hobart, TAS
October 4 Melbourne, VIC
October 5 Canberra, ACT
October 8 – 9 Adelaide, SA
October 10 Mount Barker, SA
October 12 Melbourne, VIC
October 13 Camperdown, VIC
October 15 Portland, VIC
October 18 Wangaratta, VIC
October 20 Wodonga, VIC
October 23 Skipton, VIC
October 24 Stawell, VIC
October 25 Goornong, VIC
October 26 – 31 Melbourne, VIC
November 1 – 2 AAMI Victoria Derby Day
November 4 – 5 Melbourne, VIC
November 6 Lexus Melbourne Cup Day, VIC


To view the Lexus website, please use one of the browsers listed below.